6 steps to motivate yourself


 Are you a procrastinator?

Do you lack the motivation to get the job done?

I have done much soul-searching and meditating on my future. There are many things I want to do but… The big BUT… what have I done? Nothing! What are the obstacles on my road to success?

I need some motivation to get things started.  I will have to change my thinking. That requires looking at my past failures as a learning tool and not as a disappointment. I need to figure out why I failed and learn from that. Where did I go wrong? Why did I give up? Why can’t I get started?  What did I do differently when I succeeded?

I need motivation to reach for the highest height.

I will have to activate my imagination. I must listen to my heart. I need to dream new dreams.

I have to ask myself some important questions:

  • Where are my priorities?
  • What is the desire of my heart?
  • what are the things I want to accomplish?
  • What do I envision myself doing in the future?

Then, I have to turn my dreams into goals. Each dream must become concrete, real and important. I must create my own adventure because I know my  life is more fun and fulfilling when I am rising to a challenge.

Motivation brings freedom. Freedom to make the right choices, freedom to choose to go after my goals. Freedom to live the life I want to live.

There are a myriad of motivational speakers, quotes to read and books to buy yet it all boils down to you and me.  We all must say: “I am the one who needs to accept the challenge, to put forth the effort. I need to move. I need to go for it!”

We need to overcome the obstacles in our path.

To reach the finish line, take one step at a time.

What are the barriers to self-motivation?

  • lack of proper focus
  • lack of direction
  • lack of self-esteem

To overcome these barriers, there are some steps we need to take which will get us motivated.

How to motivate yourself:

  1. Focus on your strengths. Spend some time thinking about past successes, think about what you are good at. This will give you an advantage for this new challenge. Too often we tend to focus on our failures, our weaknesses. If this is you, it is time to change your focus.
  2. Define your goal. It is difficult to get motivated unless you have a specific goal. (“I want to run a 5km race” and not: “I want to learn to run.”or  “I want to lose 25 pounds” instead of  just “I want to lose weight”. )
  3. Break your goal into manageable steps. ( by the end of next month I will run 1 km without stopping or I will lose 6 pounds) It is easier to aim for a small step at a time.
  4. Tell others about your goal. It is easier to keep motivated when others are watching you and cheering you on. It makes you accountable.
  5. Begin now. Do not allow yourself any excuses. Do not wait until Monday or after the party next week, do it now.
  6. Expect more from yourself. Don’t allow fear and self-doubt to invade your heart. Believe in your God-given abilities.

“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined.”- Henry David Thoreau

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Roadblocks to success and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 6 steps to motivate yourself

  1. Pingback: The long and winding road to fitness, day 124 « Run4joy59's Blog

  2. arosmannen says:

    Good advice. Keep up the positive spirit.

  3. edebock says:

    Good suggestions, Maggie. I find that blogging about my goals is a good way to add accountability. Once I’ve put a goal in writing for everyone to see, I’m more motivated to make it happen.

Leave a Reply

