What are the roadblocks to success?


procrastination

Image by cheerfulmonk via Flickr

I had great intentions. I am wondering what happened. This past week has passed by without me. I have not done the things I want to do. I have procrastinated. No diet, No writing. No projects completed. So I have to ask myself the question:

What is holding me back?

I wonder how many others are feeling a roadblock on the road to success? Perhaps if I ponder some questions on this blog, others may take a serious look at their own roadblocks.

Procrastination.  Simply putting off what we should do. The big question is why?

We are not born procrastinators. We learn the behaviour.  Whatever the reason, I have learnt it well. I confess, I am a procrastinator.

There is a lot of Psychiatric talk about why we procrastinate. I feel it boils down to just a few things.

  1. Fear of failure.
  2. Lack of motivation.
  3. Lack of direction.
  4. Feeling overwhelmed.

I am procrastinating now so I will ponder these questions and more as I blog in the next while. Please go through this with me. Ask questions, give me suggestions and give me feedback. I need the encouragement.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in life is an adventure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What are the roadblocks to success?

  1. Pingback: Is Fear of Failure Blocking Your Success? | Living Life in Colour

  2. Dean Bowman says:

    Great post. I’d only add one more thing to your list: Lack of courage. It takes courage to be successful in any endevour – even more so in writing, art and self-expression. Thanks for posting and adding colour to the world!

    • Maggie L R says:

      I appreciate your feedback and thank you for adding lack of courage. It is very true that we need courage to take that step. I wonder where the lack of courage stems from? is it the same root as fear of failure?

      • Dean Bowman says:

        Great question. I don’t think fear and courage are opposites. Rather, I believe in order to have courage you must understand your fears to overcome them. I’m not qualified to say if it is or isn’t the same root as fear of failure. I can say from experience that re-newed self-esteem and confidence have often given me the strength to face my fears, including the fear of failure.

        Other than that, the only other thing I’ve found helpful in fighting one fear is finding another fear that’s greater. This is what actually pushes me more than anything else now to write and submit work for publication: http://dean-bowman.com/2011/09/23/the-enormity-of-it-all/

        Ultimately, fear is common to all humanity. What we actually fear, however, is as unique as each of us. How we find courage to overcome fear is up to each us. We just don’t have to face it alone. 🙂

      • Maggie L R says:

        I believe each fear has a specific root for each individual. Understanding where a fear began is the first step in overcomingthe fear. It is easy to say,”just get over it, you will be safe” but climbing that ladder, if you have a fear, is another matter. Just as taking on a project at work, if you fear you will fail, tends to be overwhelming and holds you back. Thank you for your input. you always give me food for thought and I like that.

  3. dsgnmom says:

    Maggie… First of all thank you for following my blog! I welcome you and look forward to having you follow my work as I will yours! Secondly… please know that MANY of us are procrastinators. I am one too… I have been wanting to do a 30 day writing program to bring clarity to what I want, where I am going and how to get there… but have I started it??? NO! Well you have inspired me to do better. Your honesty is touching and leads me to be more honest. Thank you for this post and for our new connection. I love blogging for this very reason!

  4. I also want to add color to my life. I try to stay positive no matter what. I pray a lot too. This is a very well written article.

  5. Pingback: What’s your Roadblock? ….take a DETOUR! « Dsgnmom's Blog

  6. rickups says:

    Hi Maggie. I don’t know anything about you, really. But, i know we share a similar unique drive to succeed. Im 21, so I’m sure my goals and wants are different but the inner drive that we all possess when we do what something, is identical.
    I know my goals like the back of my hand.. I look at them each morning.. i visualize them all day every day! I can not stop thinking about them. From this, I know that that I truly want to succeed with me goals.
    This is a single form of motivation right here. Just constantly imagine what it is going to feel like when you achieved your goal. Every time you remind yourself, you are motivating yourself to get through the little things each and every day that you think are tough. (which really are not)
    Ex: doing the dishes, laundry, 15 min run, 25 push-ups.. whatever the “roadblock” is that you are having problems with. So, “Focus on the reality of the goal and not on the little roadblocks”

    Another thing I use to motivate me is non-the-less, but motivational quotes. I have a sales team of about 25 and every morning I look over 15-30 various quotes from names such as: Hellen Keller, Thomas Jefferson, Jim Rohn, Anthony Robbins, Steve Jobs, etc.. I pick one quote and send it to the team. If my team chooses to read them each day, then Awesome! But, all I know is it motivates me each and every day!

    If this helps, ask me more questions. I have a ton of valuable tricks and techniques! Just ask.

    • Maggie L R says:

      Thank you for your imput. I am happy to hear you are able to get yourself motivated. It sounds like there is little procrastination in your life and I sincerely hope that you never “catch” the procrastination fever. You have great suggestions and I thank you for taking the time to comment.

Leave a Reply

