Drumming soothes the soul


Djembé

Image via Wikipedia

Drumming awoke a primal call within my soul. There is a desire within each of us to make music. We each have a creative side which makes us uniquely different. Music has never been my specialty. I cannot play an instrument and my singing voice has deteriorated over time. Today something stirred at my core. I attended a community drum circle. I went once last year and, when I saw the notice, I felt compelled to go again.

I walked into the room alone. A few people were already drumming quietly, so I found a place in the circle with my borrowed drum. I listened to the beat. The rhythm started to speak to me. It felt like a pulse, a heartbeat deep within.

The drum beats were in rhythm with my heart.

 

Once everyone gathered, the leader took over and taught a few basic rhythms to follow. There were people of all ages there yet we played as one, connected by the beat of the drum. I felt the beat in my hands, they were pounding out the rhythm easily, as if part of something bigger. I could feel my heartbeat join in the music.

The two hours went by very fast. There was a time of following one rhythm, louder, then softer. there was a time of playing one of three parts, all together, that same pulse beat flowed through. At another time, each person was given the chance to perform an eight beat solo before the group came back in with the pulse beat.

I found this experience soothing. In the past week I have been mad at myself because I am failing at sticking to a diet. I had a disappointing email, telling me that the class I signed up for has been cancelled. I have been faced with this coming winter and wondering what to do with myself now that I am not working. Drumming this afternoon allowed me to let go of these small anxious thoughts as well as some bigger worries. I found myself relaxing and letting the beat calm that inner turmoil and I feel good. I feel relaxed. I feel ready for the new week with a renewed desire to tackle the diet and exercise program I so desperately need.

The ball is waiting patiently for me.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in life is an adventure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

