The cat walk


Keeping fit is one of my retirement goals. Last evening, my husband and I decided to go for a long, quick-paced walk. Taking the dog is mandatory. Just one look at her face, seeing the excitement in her wagging tail, we knew we could not escape without her.

Did someone use the "W" word? Did they? I heard it.. I know I did...Oh Yeah.. Lets go...

Guilt would ruin our walk.  Sidney is not an easy dog to walk, she is so full of energy, she only wants to run.

Sidney runs non-stop.

We were approaching the end of the block when we noticed Clover following us.

Cats only like to sleep and eat... or do they?

We crossed the street, hoping the cat would lose interest. Her little paws picked up speed. She wanted to go for the walk too. We knew we should have made sure she didn’t get out. We waited for her to catch up. We had Sidney pulling us forward and the cat slowing us down. Cats do not walk nicely on the sidewalk. Cats are never in a hurry, preferring to investigate each garden, casually strolling behind us. Cats always want to be in control. I had Sidney’s leash and tried to slow her down. The best way I have found to do that is to make her sit. Our fitness walk deteriorated rapidly. John picked up the cat and struggled to carry the wriggling creature as we continued.

"just pat me, feed me, let me in, let me out, but don't ever pick me up"

We changed our route and headed home. The cat scratched John’s face and leapt to the ground. The dog tried to chase her, almost pulling me off my feet.

I handed John the leash and decided I would catch the cat. Have you ever tried to catch a cat? One must be sneaky, stealthy. John walked further along the sidewalk, pretending all was cool. Clover followed half a block behind. I stalked the cat. Hiding behind a tree, I waited for her to pass. One slight movement from me and Clover dashed. I hid behind a mailbox… waiting for the right moment… one step and she took off running.  This was not going easy. Giving up, we let her follow for a few blocks. She was further behind now and difficult to spot in the dark. Sidney was not happy. Slow is not in her vocabulary. Suddenly a car turned onto the street, the cat dashed across in front of it and dove under a tree. Now I was mad. Enough of this nonsense. I grabbed for Clover and surprised myself when I actually had her in my arms. I tucked her into my jacket and we hurried home.

With both animals secure in the house, it was time for our exercise. We started off once more. Then we heard it… “meow”. What now? … we turned. Lucky was right behind us, determined that we notice him. We did not worry, Lucky is our wandering and very independent TomCat, always on the prowl.

Lucky has battle scars from his night prowls.

He would not follow us, he had places to go, cats to see, battles to win. We turned the corner. Lucky in hot pursuit. Unbelievable, he was following right behind us. This was too much, we simply headed home in frustration, wondering if the cats really did notice we were on holiday for four months. Did the cats actually miss us? Do cats really care who looks after them? Do cats wonder if we are leaving again?

Book-end hair-balls relaxing after their evening walk.

You guys are no fun... I wanted to run... I wanted to have some fun...

Next time, we will be more diligent to sneak off without any animals.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in fitness, life is an adventure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The cat walk

  1. Sybil says:

    Take a spray bottle and give ’em a shot. They’ll stop following you. Then the dog can have a nice long walk and the kitties won’t get squished by cars. 🙂

  2. Loved this story, it really made me laugh and reminded me of the time I had 7 cats and a dog … that was interesting too!
    Have signed up so I don’t miss any of your blogs.

    Wonderfully written with a great sense of humour!

    Thank you for sharing.

    Tisha

  3. I too have a cat who likes to go for walks. Animals can sure make life interesting sometimes. We have 3 cats and 1 dog, so I know. Great Story!

Leave a Reply

