One Journey Ends, Another Begins


What an adventure! What a beautiful and diverse continent we inhabit. After 4 months, 15,000 pictures, over 32,000 km, 17 states, 5 provinces and 2 territories we arrived home safe, tired, yet energetic. I have been to deserts and mountains, lakes and oceans, salt flats and lava beds. I saw snow in the south and hot sun in the far north.

enjoying the warm sun in Inuvik, North West Territories

Playing in the snow in May

.

.

.

.

We spent very little money on our overnight stops, opting instead to stay at truck stops, Wal-Mart, gravel pits, free campsites (thankyou BC) and often just finding an unused road and tucking ourselves away for the night.

A free BC campsite at Ladies Creek

We met amazing and interesting people all over. Many are now friends. This experience has opened my eyes to how good people are. We felt safe everywhere we went.

Most importantly, I am refreshed, I am renewed. Spending so much time in the sunshine has enriched my soul. The sun has not only filled me with vitamin D, but also with a new outlook on life. I have a deep yearning to tackle this next stage, this retirement, with gusto. I have re-written my bucket-list. I want to add colour to my days by tapping into the creativity that is hidden within me. I have had a lot of time to ponder my choices. Writing? Photography? Painting? ….?

I will have the rest of my days to cultivate my dream. Don’t let me procrastinate.  In my pursuit of this creativity, I must not neglect the health of my body, soul and spirit. Nutrition and exercise is a daily concern.

Long walks are good for the body mind and spirit.

Most importantly, I must not forget my spiritual side. We are spiritual beings. I plan to dig deeper into the Bible. I want to know more. I feel I have lost my connection to God. I no longer feel close to Jesus. I need to understand why. I am dry and thirsty.

I feel dry and thirsty like this Arizona desert

I am planning to use this blog to share my new journey and the progress step by step. I am searching for answers about nutrition, health, exercise and about my spirituality. I plan to share what I learn and I hope others will share their knowledge and teach me as I travel this road to wholeness.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in life is an adventure, random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Journey Ends, Another Begins

  1. Peggy says:

    Maggie RL I am so happy your trip was such a success. In response to your request re: finding health and balance – I have been in Greece just over 2 weeks – ALOT of walking uphill and down, and a perfect Meditteranean Vegetarian diet – fountain of youth combination! I feel great…looking forward to feeling greater everyday. Then, when I get home, my pledge is to go to the beach everyday. It is only 2 blocks from my house, but lots of stairs…
    Enjoy everything, as you have learned to on your trip. Wish you could come and visit me!
    Maggle G

  2. edebock says:

    I look forward to following you on this new journey of yours!

Leave a Reply

