A Bucket List Moment on Great Slave Lake


Armed with
a brand new fishing license, we headed to the shores of Great Slave Lake. We
found Shawn Buckley, a commercial fisherman who was willing to take us out for
a small fee. He supplied the rods, tackle and boat. At fisherman’s wharf, he
led us to his small boat. I gulped and climbed in.This was no ordinary speedboat.

Loading the life jackets

Shawn checking the tackle

We motored upriver as we trolled. We were in the town of Hay River on the south
shore of the lake. A beautiful hot day in the north, I relaxed and took in the
sights. Up and down the river were empty barges. We passed by the Coast Guard,
and their boat graveyard. Shawn pointed out some ducks near the shore. We chatted
for a while. Around the bend in the river we came across a juvenile Eagle. It
was on a log and appeared to be having trouble learning to take off. Shawn
stopped the boat and we watched as the giant bird flopped on the ground and
jumped back onto the log again and again. I felt sorry for the poor bird. Where
was its mother, who was going to teach it to fly? I wanted to help. Suddenly,
he succeeded, took to the air and flew off to the sounds of our cheers and well
wishes.

success

We know it is a privilege to witness such a moment.

We no  sooner went back to fishing, when John got a bite. He reeled in a beautiful big
Jackfish (a Northern Pike). We did release it back into the river to live
another day. I am glad that barbless hooks are mandatory in NWT. Shawn caught
a walleye (pickerel) and allowed me to reel it in, which was fun.

My bucket
list includes fishing on Great Slave Lake, so Shawn turned us around and headed
out onto the giant lake. We trolled for a while,

ticking off another item on the bucket list

but I was more excited to just
enjoy the sights. We watched a fishing boat return with a flock of seagulls
following. I thoroughly enjoyed the sun and the fishing and most of all,
ticking off another item on the bucket list.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in canadian travel, Cross Country Roadtrip, road trip and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

