Have you seen a Karst?


I have never heard of a karst. When we started the hiking trail, we saw the
warning;” beware; entering active karst terrain, stay on the trail.” I asked John if he had the bear spray with him, I did not want to encounter a karst unprepared. The trail
led us to a huge hole partially filled with water.

an enormous area has caved in, the karst are responsible.

The karst apparently
caused this hole, they must be huge, some sort of Bigfoot? Maybe it is a
monster like in the Loch Ness? I grabbed Johns arm for protection. We walked
gently around the hole looking for the karst. Was it living in the depths? There were some huge holes along the trail. This monster must be enormous.

I tried to stay on the path

There were large deep holes along the path.

Were these holes made by the karst‘s heavy foot?

I tried to stay on the trail and got my leg stuck in one very large hole. John pulled me out. I was getting scared. I spotted a lookout tower on the hill.

a safe place to watch for the karst.

That will be a safe place to get a good
view and spot the beast. The bottom section of ladder had been torn away. I had to
stretch high to grab the lowest rung.

I had to get a boost to reach the first rung.

As I grabbed the window at the top, my foot slipped and I tumbled down amid the broken glass..

I lay crumpled on the ground and all John could do was take my picture.

Too scared to be hurt, I ran back to the car,
anxious to get away, positive the karst had grabbed my leg and caused my fall. We drove further into the park, we wanted to know more about the karst. Another trail took us to
the Salt Plains. The trees along the path were dead, covered in lichen and very spooky.

creepy. was this an omen?

We silently followed the narrow trail.  Before too long ,the woods opened up to a shocking sight.  I could not believe my eyes.

A vast plains opened up.

this was weird, very weird

Rocks lay scattered all over the plains, as if discarded. That’s when I found out about the diet of the karst. They eat the rocks. The flat plains were strewn with the remains of their meals. Granite rocks showed the marks where the karst had chewed pieces and spit them out.

The karst has been eating this rock, look at the large tooth marks.

a chewed rock

Other rocks were
crushed and all that remained was a few crumbs.

Just some boulder crumbs remain

We wandered through the plains
in shock.

Rocks lie amid the salt, how did this happen?

John... is this a footprint of the karst?

A footprint?

Was this real? Have we stumbled upon another world? Even the plants
were different. Rubbery, they had the feel of an artificial plant.

this plant felt like an artificial plant, very rubbery.

I had to have a rest, worn out from all my wondering.

I needed to gather my strength.

The place
was crawling in insects of all sorts. The black flies were the most annoying,
getting under our glasses and biting. It was time to get out of this strange
and mysterious land. No wonder it is a Unesco World Heritage site. It is like no other place I have ever seen. I am  happy to leave, it is too spooky and scary for me. Why is this place called Wood Buffalo National Park and where are all the buffalo? Have they been eaten by the karst?

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in canadian travel, Cross Country Roadtrip and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have you seen a Karst?

  1. edebock says:

    What a weird and wonderful world we live in!

Leave a Reply

