Surprising Yellowknife


Yellowknife from the Pilot Rock

Yellowknife surprised me. From the first glimpse of this modern town, built on rock, I could see I was in for a different northern experience.

Downtown at night

This diamond capital of Canada has a bit of everything.

We found a great campsite on the edge of town, built on the pink and grey smooth rocks. It was, however, right beside the airport. We had quite a show of planes overhead.

Note the propellers.

We wandered the main streets, looking into gallerys and shops, meeting some of the artists and discussing their craft. Our main goal was to find a “yellow knife” from Yellowknife as a souvenir. Each store agreed it was a great idea, but no, they have never seen such a thing. We sadly left empty-handed. We wandered to the “old Town” on a small peninsula. There is a “Pilots Monument” built high on a rock. The view from the top gave us our first good look at Great Slave Lake.

Floating Homes on Great Slave Lake

At the edge of the Old Town is a restaurant recommended by Readers Digest. Bullock’s Bistro, in a small log cabin, looked inviting.

Bullock's Bistro

Andre

We  staff greeted us and invited us to lunch. Andre, the chef, was making bread in his “office” by the window. The walls were covered with signs and notes, jokes and pictures. The furniture, an eclectic array of stools and chairs. The friendly staff made the experience one of the best meals yet. John ordered the fish and chips, while I decided to try the buffalo stew.

We stopped at a mining museum on the way out of town.

Back at the campsite, it started raining. Cooking dinner was a chore.

Rain and Wind made dinner difficult to cook

The rain stopped and a full rainbow appeared over the van. A promise of better weather, I hope.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in canadian travel, road trip and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

