Angel on the endless highway


We woke up early at the beautiful Baba Canyon. We wanted to get an early start, Our destination… Yellowknife. Around the first corner we came across a goat family.

Rock Goats

They are Rock Goats for obvious reasons, or is it because they climb the rocks? I am not sure but they were fun to watch and not shy.

We saw a lot of wildlife that morning.

Mama and three cubs eating on the side of the highway.

Just before Fort Nelson, we turned north and found the longest and most boring road in Canada: from Fort Nelson BC to Yellowknife NWT.

Long, straight, flat, gravel, endless

The road is gravel.  It is flat. Do they put the potholes there to keep the drivers awake? There are very few settlements along the way, no homes, no stores. We have always watched the gas gauge carefully. It showed just a quarter full. We hoped there would be a gas station soon. Turning up the 40 km road to get to Fort Simpson, just for gas, was not appealing. Noticing a pickup truck with the NWT emblem stopped on the roadside, John pulled up beside him. He would know where the next gas was available. The news was not good. Our choice: Fort Simpson or another 350 km. His next words “I have some gas I can give you.” were like music. What he did next turned him into an angel. He filled our tank… FILLED it!! A guardian angel named Mickey (Michael), thank you so much.

our guardian angel

Relaxed, we continued along the endless highway. My favorite Park along the route is Sambaa Deh Falls. A welcome sight in this flat land. The gorge cut by the river is narrow and deep.  The wide river squeezes through the gorge and thunders over the rocks.

We walked along the gorge, gingerly crossing large, deep cracks. How long will it be before the rocks tumble into the river.

We stopped a little while later at the cutest outhouse. (I have become an quite the outhouse expert )

The nicest outhouse in the north

When I opened the door, I changed my opinion and opted for the bushes.

disgusting to look at, worse to smell.

The long dirt road went on and on. Bridges are a welcome site, breaking the monotony. The bridge over the Fort Nelson River became a fast favorite.

Long, one lane wooden bridge.

We stopped for a break beside the bridge where John made friends with a couple of ravens.

The ravens chatted about John

It rained the next day, turning the dirt road into a slippery mud track.

After driving for two days, we pulled into Yellowknife, tired and dirty.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in canadian travel, road trip and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

