Wildlife and Hot Water


I wanted to hang a sign in the signpost forest. “Tree”
after “tree” held signs with names of towns and cities around the world. It all
started in 1942 by a home-sick fellow who was building the Alaska Highway. He
posted a handmade sign pointing to his home town in Illinois. If anyone plans
to go to Watson Lake, Yukon, don’t forget to bring a sign.

There is a small cairn marking the border between the
Yukon and BC. We had a little fun climbing and playing.

One of the “must do” places is Liard Hot Springs. Lovely,
amazing, soothing, healing. The water is hot.

I heard that the challenge is to
place a stone at the far end, the spot where the hottest water bubbles from far beneath the ground. I do love a challenge, so I reached down, picked up a stone  and inched my way to the hot spot. The surface is the hottest and by scooping  the water from beneath toward me, I was able to place my rock. Proud of my
accomplishment, I quickly waded back to the middle and enjoyed lolly-gagging in
the warm water. The setting is so natural with ferns and other plants all
around. It felt like a little piece of heaven.

We decided not to camp at Liard simply because the
trails were closed. It seems that there is a trouble-making bear on the loose
and they did not want anyone put at risk.

I am so glad we decided to travel on. We found
abundant wildlife along the road; Goats, Buffalo and Bears.

Then the miracle happened. John saw something move in the
tall grass. He slowed down and sure enough, right beside the car… a lynx!!

Absolutely
amazing. She stared at us for a few moments then bounded away. She stopped,
turned for another look, and then disappeared into the forest.  Perfect, our first lynx encounter.

We continued smiling all the way to the perfect free
BC recreation campsite on the Liard River.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in canadian travel, Cross Country Roadtrip, random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wildlife and Hot Water

  1. Pingback: weekly photo challenge: comfort | Maggies Photography

Leave a Reply

