Discovery!!


Last week, the Yukon celebrated the discovery of gold. No gold for us, but we did make a few Yukon discoveries of our own.

  1. 1.  Do not wash the car before driving the Dempster Highway.

    it rained

    Rain transforms the dust into
    thick slimy goo that sticks to everything, then slides and oozes into the
    crevices and cracks. Opening the doors became a challenge. (Listen; I can hear
    Danae and Sarah laughing)

2. Grizzlies are afraid of black bears.

  1. Grizzly chasing away the ravens

    We watched a  grizzly in the distance scaring the ravens away from his food. Suddenly a black  bear charged over the rise, the grizzly ran, leaving the black bear to eat.
    Luckily for us, the grizzly ran in our direction and posed for a picture.

    3.  The kick-off  for the Discovery days in Dawson City included a gallery tour complete with  wine and cheese served at each location.

    A view of Dawson City from the lookout

    I discovered that John’s patience  lessens with each gallery. Ummm; perhaps it was the waiting while I (and all  the other wine drinkers) enjoyed the wine at each gallery.

    4. We discovered that reading the word “gold” through a
    window changes it to “blog”

    sitting having coffee, looking out the window at the sign, all I could read was the word blog...

    5. We discovered the romance capital of the Yukon.

    inside the romance capital. very inviting and romantic setting..... NOT

    6. There is a long boring stretch of the Alaska Highway
    with little wildlife. We saw just a few ravens, a chipmunk and a magpie.

    7. A hike to Five Finger Rapids sounded great, we needed
    the exercise. We discovered the longest staircase in the Yukon.

    Th longest staircase in the Yukon

    8. At the rapids we discovered some animals. A turtle and
    a Hippo. (are we desperate to see more wildlife?)

    looks like a turtle to me.

    A hippo? perhaps...

    9. We discovered that what goes down, must go up the
    longest staircase in the Yukon. All 289 stairs.

    come on John, just 215 stairs to go.

    10. John discovered that if you get up during the few hours of darkness, it is possible to see the Northern Lights in the summer. unfortunately, he did not wake me up and he did not take a picture.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in canadian travel, Cross Country Roadtrip, road trip and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Discovery!!

  1. Pingback: Historic Champagne cabins and trucks | Maggies Photography

Leave a Reply

