A hole in my bucket list


Mount Logan, Canada, from NE, seen from Kluane...

Image via Wikipedia

There is a hole in my bucket list. A large “X” scratched
through my dream. I found out that I cannot hike on Mt. Logan. I found
out that I cannot even see the mountain. It lies hidden behind the St. Elias
Range, surrounded by ice. I did try to research hiking on the mountain and could find nothing. Now I know why. It should not be a big deal. I know that. I
confess that I have a flaw. Now, I know that by my age I should be perfect and I am
working on it. The flaw: I dream without knowing the facts. I make plans that grow in my mind. When the dream crumbles, I wallow. I have a pity party.

John is so patient. He gets me busy and I soon come out of my pit. We went hiking.
The best way to soothe my soul is to get me on a mountain trail. We climbed in
Kluane National Park. It was to be my Mt. Logan.  When we parked the van, we were simply stretching our legs.

We started at a small creek. I climbed the cliff to take a picture and found a trail.

There were no signs and it was a rather small trail. Curious, we followed it up and
over the first ridge. We were in the open, walking beside moss and lichens and
a variety of flowers. The steep trail was difficult, but we could not be
stopped. Each ridge challenged us to climb it.

We were following an animal track

We knew we were following animal trails. The path divided and merged with another narrow trail only to divide again and again.This was our trail, our mountain,  our wilderness. We could hear the music of the creek as it tumbled down toward the beautiful Lake Kluane below us.

Lake Kluane from the ridge

Breathing in the clean mountain air, I was able to let go of all my disappointment. We sat on a rock in silence. The rest of the  world, a million miles away.

 

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A hole in my bucket list

  1. Pingback: Bucket List Bonus on Mount Robson | Living Life in Colour

  2. Pingback: And Yes, There Are Mountains Surrounding Albacete! | TRAVELITERATURE

  3. Maggie L R says:

    Thank you, I am spoiled and I know it, but I am learning to accept the limitations of life.

  4. edebock says:

    Beautifully written! I guess we all have our Mount Logan’s, our disappointments, and learning to accept them with grace is definitely a challenge

Leave a Reply

