From Wild Burnaby to Wild Nahatlach


Internet access in the wilderness is hard to find. That is my excuse for not keeping this blog up to date. I am sitting in the public library in Williams Lake taking advantage of the free WiFi.

We spent a couple of weeks enjoying a visit with Stephen and his family in Burnaby.

We went to a few local events including Discovery Days at Deer Lake where we enjoyed some canoeing and kayaking.

This lake is in the middle of Burnaby

Deer Lake is a great spot in the middle of the city. The boys are delightful and after many adventures, we had to head out for the next chapter in our roadtrip.

We stayed to watch the giant maple tree in the backyard taken down and on Tuesday headed up the Fraser River.

Soon after Boston Bar we turned onto the Nahatlach Forest Service Road.

We did not know what to expect as the road is gravel, but it was in excellent condition. We came across a great recreational campsite and found a wonderful spot on the raging Nahatlach river.

We were alone in the wilderness, seventeen other campsites all empty, we had our pick. No cell coverage, no one to hear our calls for help, John took a few minutes to study how to use the bear spray.

With lots of time and no hiking trails to be found, we headed to the beach and did some metal detecting.

Surprise surprise, the majority of our finds were beer caps. We also cleaned the beach of a couple of nails, a few pieces of foil, two lead fishing weights and a metal tent peg, still in great shape.

On the hillside, just above the bend in the river, stands a couple of benches placed there in memory of Larry Burke. I love the poem on the plaque written by L. Burke.

I could feel his desire for adventure.

“Reach up, stretch yourself, don’t be contained. ”

I feel a rush of excitement when I think of stretching myself, of reaching up, trying new things, looking for adventure. This poem is inspiring me to reach higher.

“Soar on the wings of your dreams” !! Yes.. I will, Larry.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Wild Burnaby to Wild Nahatlach

  1. edebock says:

    Thanks for sharing the poem, Maggie! I’d like “Soar on the wings of your dreams” to be my theme too!

Leave a Reply

