From the wilderness to work


Sitting with my feet up, exhausted. It has been an extraordinary two days working in the gardens at the Pine Grove Nursing Home here in Kamloops B.C. The community has been very generous in donating plants, both annuals and perennials to the home for their extensive gardens. 

My sister Jennifer is the part-time gardener and is responsible for getting these hundreds of plants into the ground. The problem is that we have to leave for Vancouver Tuesday morning.

John and I spent both Sunday and today digging and hauling and watering.

 

 

We left Yellowstone Park and headed to Glacier National Park where we camped for a couple of very cold nights. We had a great site on the edge of the campground up against a rockface.

 

The hiking in the park was wonderful. We went on several trails, climbing up and down the mountains.

There were a lot of waterfalls.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We enjoyed a great time sitting beside a beaver lodge watching the beaver diving for food and taking it back to its lodge.

 

 

 

 

 

The Highway through the park was still snowed in and we had to drive around the park rather than through it. We hiked along the closed road early one morning.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We found a great little restaurant just outside the park, near the town of Babb, called the “Two Sisters” We stopped in because they had a Canadian flag flying. Great food, Great service.

 

 

Headed to Cranbrook B.C. to visit Sam and Andrew and their new daughter Kayia… what a doll. It is so nice to see them again.

 

We headed to Jasper in the rain. We ended up in Lake Louise for the night.

 

We turned around because the mountains were under a heavy rain cloud. We decided to head straight to Kamloops to my sisters. Little did we know the work we would end up doing.

 

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From the wilderness to work

  1. edebock says:

    Wow! You’ve covered a lot of ground lately! I suppose we have too but we did in by air. We flew into hot, humid Saipan late last night to begin our two month missions assignment here.

Leave a Reply

