Three strikes at Zion.


 Travelling north once again, we wanted to give Zion National Park a second try. We want to see the slot canyon that is so photographed. Double disappointment. The slot canyon is still closed because of high water and the campground is full.

It was early so we decided to look around. We have an Annual Pass and intend to use it. The park itself is amazing.

We jumped on the shuttle bus, the only travel allowed in the park, and got off at the last stop. We were advised the trail would give us a sense of the slot canyon even though we could not go all the way in. I snapped pictures all the way along on the bus, the place is another wonder of the world. Strike three? The battery in the camera went dead. The spare is back in the car, ninety minutes away. I can only describe the wonders unveiled in the amazing canyon. Deep red and sparkling white cliffs rose straight up hundreds of feet above us. The Virgin River cascading through the canyon beside the trail was a green from the silt it carried downstream. The late afternoon sun, enriching the colours of the steep cliffs, could only reach the canyon floor through breaks in the cliff. Each wall of rock revealed colourful layers of time. Each bend in the rushing river creating a sandy beach to enjoy. Vines hanging from the trees, yellow columbines and other wild flowers added to the colourful display. We lingered, listening to the sounds of frogs. We thought about the power of the river.

I enjoyed the Zion Canyon more than I did the Grand Canyon for the simple fact that we were in it, not overseeing it. I had a sense that I belonged. I was not simply a watcher. The depth is more evident and much more dramatic when standing on the canyon floor.

The stairway into the water that led to the slot canyon disappeared into the water. The only way in is through the rushing river. Sadly I turned around and we made our way slowly back to the shuttle stop.

Driving out of the park, we took time to stop and play on the cliff sides.

It was fun to climb the checkerboard cliff, there were so many ledges.

The drive in and out of Zion winds down the canyon wall in a series of switchbacks. At one point, the drive goes through a tunnel that is over a mile long. There are windows at intervals giving a glimpse of the beauty outside.

This is a picture of the window in the tunnel cut in the cliff face

We found a rest stop with facilities and tucked the van in for the night.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three strikes at Zion.

  1. Jill Stewart says:

    Nancy and me want to know why you do not have a recent blog(or perhaps we cannot find it. Nancy and friend Eileen are staying with me tonight june 20th. Everyone OK. Talk to you soon, love Jill.

  2. edebock says:

    You describe in vivid words what your camera couldn’t capture. Well done!

Leave a Reply

