The Amazing Grand Canyon


The first glance took our breath away. Every look and around every corner it got better and more majestic. The Grand Canyon is indeed Grand. The colours, the depth, the expanse. Awesome. We arrived early in the evening and lingered on the edge as the sun set and darkness fell.

We found a great place to camp for the night . We woke with the first light. Grabbing a granola bar and some water, we went to the Canyon Rim to wait for the sun to rise.

A glorious sun. The morning was so fresh and clear. The heavy smog from California has dissipated and the colours of the rocks were intense. We walked and walked. The pathway streamed with the early sun, added to the wonder and magic of this amazing place.

We left for the walk at six-thirty. Time just flew by, I could scarcely believe it was four hours later when we got back to the car.

We needed to have some breakfast. That’s when we discovered that the plug was again not put back when we drained the cooler. Our mattress again soaked. I am guilty.

At least this time it is not raining.. We hauled out the mattress and put it on top of the van to dry in the Hot Arizona sun.

I think we gave many passers-by a good laugh at the gypsies from Canada. We left the mattress tied on and went for a walk in the other direction.

I could see the trail far below, winding across the mesa and disapearing over the edge.

I could see the Colorado River far below.

I could hear my name being called, I knew I had to go down. I wanted to hike down into the canyon. Luckily for me the permits to do that are hard to get,. “Apply a year in advance if you want one”. As they say, this is an upside down mountain. What goes down must climb back up. I doubt if I could make it back in this heat.

The other option was to go by mule.  Oh, how I long to go down. I have added that mule trail to my bucket list.

As we walked the canyon trails, we are in awe of the power of water. How, when challenged by a solid rock, is able to win the battle and wind its way to the sea, carving a pathway forever that goes deeper as time passes. Incredible.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Amazing Grand Canyon

  1. Ann says:

    fantastic!!!!! thank you for sharing! just to let you know, riding a mule is really great! they are like riding a Harley, compared to a dirt bike! very smoooth!

Leave a Reply

