A dam high bridge


Armed with a list of addresses, we toured Las Vegas on Pawn Shop watch.  John has become obsessed with trying to find a zoom lens for my camera at a cheap price. I have a 55-105mm we would like to get to at least a 300mm. The search took us into another country or so it seemed. Signs were in Spanish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not a friendly neighborhood it. The houses we secure behind barred windows and doors. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This was not the kind of place where high end camera lenses were pawned. We instead headed back to the downtown area of Las Vegas. No luck today, I am sure we will try another day.

The road leaving Vegas takes us to the Hoover Dam. In October of 2010 a new bridge across the gorge opened. There is a security check at the entrance to the Hoover Dam area. We were selected to be checked out. They asked to see into our rooftop carrier and they also took a look inside the van.  Do we look suspicious? Is it the Ontario Plates? They did let us through.

 

 

 After parking the car, we climbed the long stairway to the bridge. There is a walkway on the bridge giving a great view of the Hoover Dam. Of course we are greeted with a warning sign.

 

 

 

The bridge is so high the dam seems small even though I know it is huge.  I had to stand on the ledge to take a peek over the rail.

 

 

We walked from Nevada in the Pacific Time Zone across the state line to Arizona and into another time zone. The walk across the bridge ends in a wall. We had to walk back to Nevada and change time again.

 

 

 

 

 When we were back in the car, we headed over the dam itself. Guess what? The road goes over the dam and into a parking lot. The only way out is back over the dam. So we returned to Nevada ?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back on the road, I kicked off my shoes and lay back for the drive through the mountains and onto the desert. As night fell, we found ourselves in Kingman

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

