Utah Canyons and Cliffs


 

It is Memorial Day in the USA, we are calling it Laundry Day. A day to catch up. I have been holding my breath since we drove into Utah. The rugged beauty is overwhelming. The drive has been crazy. Hairpin turns, overhanging cliffs and vistas that reach the far horizon have had me squealing with delight.

Sheer cliff on both sides, we are on top of the world.

 The drive has taken us from the highest height of the cliffs to the bottom of the deepest gorge and back again. We are climbing the ridges one minute and upon reaching a summit of around 9000 feet, we descend again. This is repeated for the length of the state. Cliffsides at the edge of the road, without a guard rail for protection, have left me gasping for breath and screaming with terror. John takes it in stride and simply laughs at my foolishness.

A 14% grade that drops us 5000 feet in minutes.

We pulled over and hiked to a ridge, it has become a favorite pastime. I love the fresh clean smell of the countryside and feel the need to investigate.

Even though the wind was crazy, I had to check out the salt in the fields.

The trees are all short and twisted by the high winds

The grasshoppers are pretty big in the sagebrush

Relaxing on the cliff side

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We passed through The Ashley National Forest and they told us that 25,000 Acres of forest burned in 2002. The hillsides are still bare with the charred remnants of the trees stark against the sky.

As darkness descended, we were greeted by flashing lights and a large sign cautioning that the road ahead was broken. We had to slow down quickly on the descent down the mountain and actually came to a stop, along with a few other vehicles. Across the road was a ridge that dropped us a foot and a half. What a shock. We had to approach it on an angle. I think that the money spent on the huge flashing sign should have been used towards fixing the road right away.

We drove to Capitol Reef National Park to hike. I am at a loss for words. Just enjoy the pictures. We first hiked along the Chimney Trail.

The cactus along with many other flowers lined the trails.

We stopped at the castle which we could view from the road.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our next stop was the Gooseneck canyons.. A short hike with the gale force winds rushing up the canyon. The wind was so hard that pebbles were striking our face.

I spread my wings in the wind

A peek over the edge to see the people below.

Braced against the force of the wind

The longest and most strenuous hike was well worth the effort. It took us up and over the ridge into the next canyon. It is Hickman’s Bridge. A natural Stone arch. The trail itself was amazing. We met a couple from France and enjoyed walking with them part way.

How do I get out?

A small bridge on the way up.
 

Part of the long climb

 

Finally we made it to the Natural rock arch called Hickman’s Bridge.

Look hard, I am there under the arch.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

From under the Arch

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

We continued driving south through the amazing scenery. We decided to pass by Bryce’s Canyon and many others and headed towards Zion National Park. We had enough for the day, It was so much it is hard to take in all the beauty. Our brains are exhausted.

The Aspen trees amaze me, I love that they are at higher elevation than the evergreens.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The setting sun cast a beautiful glow on the red cliffs

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Utah Canyons and Cliffs

  1. edebock says:

    Utah is amazing! Bryce & Zion are both spectacular & we love Arches National Park. Spent lots of time hiking there last summer.

Leave a Reply

