Rushmore and Much More


Wednesday morning we jumped out of bed and ran to feel the mattress. Was it dry enough?

Yes! We could get back to living on the cheap. We paraded the mattress through the full lobby, breakfast entertainment for our fellow travellers. I wonder why nobody called the sheriff?

There is a little Norwegian church, on the drive to Mount Rushmore, called Chapel in the Hills. It is an exact replica of a church in Norway. I have seen pictures in the past so we went. Quite unique in design on the outside, the inside very simple. It is a Lutheran Church with services for tourists in the summer. In the woods behind the church is a prayer walk. Each stop along the way has a statue and a sign directing your thoughts and prayers for a specific need, such as world peace and families and children. We stopped at the gift shop which sold all things Scandinavian and had a great chat with the volunteers.

Back in the car, we set the GPS for Mt Rushmore in the Black Hills. Our first glimpse made us laugh out loud.

look carefully

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The view from the road was terrific. I could feel the words to the Star Spangled Banner bubbling up inside me.  The view

from the road was so good, we did not feel the need to pay the ten-dollar parking fee. We drove away and soon found further adventure. There are several scenic loops through Custer State Park. The climb up the mountain made me dizzy. The road loops around and around in spirals. I felt like a spinning top.

The Black hills have amazing rock formations and wonderful views of the surrounding plains. It is truly awe-inspiring. Everywhere we go has something new and exciting. God has truly created a wonderful world, so diverse and fascinating.

Animals too are diverse and abundant in the Black Hills.

There are buffalo herds roaming the hills. Big horned sheep, antelope and deer among others.

Hiking trails through the hills are as abundant as the wildlife. We registered and  had a lovely hike through the forest. We enjoy the hiking so much. The clean crisp air, the scent of the trees and earth, the sounds of the birds. Hiking is renewing and refreshing. We always feel energized after a good hike.

We found a great little campsite beside a small stream. We were up against a cliff face and at the end of the camping loop. Too bad the temperature dropped to the freezing mark. I was wise and brought along a wool hat and some mitts.

The wood we scrounged was damp and we had a hard time keeping the flames up. We spent the cold night with the car window open so we could hear the sound of the water as it gurgled and splashed downstream.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

