Needles in the Sage Brush with Cowboys


We had breakfast overlooking the stream. It was before 6 am. Rising early would give us a good chance to see wildlife. We were not disappointed.

The rising sun revealed a group of male Buffalo grazing by the road. Around the corner we saw deer on a hillside. We knew we were in for a great day.

We followed the Wildlife loop through Custer State Park in the Black Hills.

I feel like I am using the same adjectives over and over to describe the incredible sights. This really is awesome or if you would rather, choose your own word.

There is a scenic drive called “The Needles“. We have been told it is a must. I agree. We were amazed and thrilled. Sharp turns, Rock Tunnels and spires of rock reaching to the sky. Again I say awesome. A real beaut.

This fella better hi-tail it deeper into the forest, Thanksgiving is coming all too fast.

We saw Bigfoot again,  for real this time… 

It is so cold. We are tired of this weather, even in the sun we need jackets. Our plan to go to Yellowstone park is put on hold and we decide it is time to head even further south.

Driving through Cowboy country is a treat. The Devils Tower rises from the flat land. The core of the volcano is all that is left, the rest has eroded over time. In a small town we find our opportunity for some Fine Art in this little antique store, complete with hundreds of antlers providing a grand archway to the treasures within.

We barely get back on the road and have to slow to a crawl.

Annie Oakley would have been proud of these girls.

If you look carefully, you can see this cowboy twirling his lasso to impress us.

We drove straight south on the interstate watching the scenery and the ever-changing sky.

The mountains in the distance

 

Sage brush reminds me of the BC interior. We were getting hungry. The rest stop provided a place to shelter from the wind and cook up some dinner.

Again I make use of the wool hat. John and I share the chores. He wants you all to know he does his share.

We continued our trek south toward the town of Casper where we spent the night.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

