Rain in the Badlands


We spent last night at a truck stop in South Dakota. We did not sleep well. Half the mattress is wet, it was raining and trucks drove in beside us all night.

Breakfast in the van looking out at the rain

 

We woke up very early. As we enjoyed breakfast in the rain-soaked parking lot, we decided to try the scenic route through the Badlands National Park hoping we would be able to see something. We don’t want to miss anything, we have raincoats, so no problem. The sky was grey but we were not. I have no words to describe what we saw. Suddenly the grasslands gave way to amazing vistas. The pictures speak for themselves. Each bend in the road gave us a new thrill. The colours, the size, the ruggedness, simply awesome!

These guys were on the edge of the road

 

                                                                                                                                                                              These are the big horned sheep? They ignored me as I snapped their picture, although, I think one of them was posing. I could hear one telling the others to smile for the nice lady, she looks wet.

 It seems that everywhere  we go in the USA we see signs warning us  about dangerous wildlife. I searched all over the Badlands but every one of those deadly rattlers found a good dry place to wait out the storms.

The rain kept coming but we were determined to look out of every viewpoint. I hate the thought of missing something spectacular, I know I will dry out eventually. John on the other hand zipped up. I thought he was heading out on an Antarctic expedition.

We enjoyed the

park thoroughly, we spent a few hours driving the full length.

All the way across South Dakota, we saw signs advertizing Wall Drug, promises of dinosaurs, jackalopes, 5 cent coffee, and everything else imaginable. Bill board after billboard. At the end of the park, there it was; the town of wall. I love the sign.

And of course in the town was the well advertised Wall Drug. We had to go see what all the hype was about and take them up on the offer for the 5 cent coffee.

We continued on our way, heading to the famous Mt Rushmore. This sign is all we saw of the mountain. I hope it clears up in the morning, we will try again to see it. I think there is a law against coming to South Dakota and missing their pride and joy.

We drove into a town called Rapid City and did our laundry since we cannot see the black hills today. We decided to stay in a motel tonight. They were gracious enough to allow us to bring our mattress inside to try to dry it. I am praying for some sunshine. This is an amazing area filled with beauty and history and chances for adventure. I am looking forward to living another colourful day.

Update: the morning has arrived, we had the mattress high up on a dresser right beside the heater. we cranked up the heat and this morning the mattress is dry enough. problem is solved. AND it is not raining this morning.. no sun.. yet… I am hopeful.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rain in the Badlands

  1. Pingback: The Badlands: VZW vs. ATT in SD | the Squished Diorama

  2. Pingback: Getting My Griswold On – Day 5: Badlands « Mark My Words…

  3. Stephen says:

    Hopefully you will get some sunshine.
    You’re in an area of the US I would like to visit one day.

    • Maggie L R says:

      It is worth the trip, I am loving it and we haven’t seen much of anything yet.
      we were going to drive straight through but are staying a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

