ABC in Indiana (Art, Battles and Covered Bridges)


The brochure offered a “Trail of Art” in downtown Lafayette. We could not miss that, so we parked the car and set off. We saw a good number of the statues, most were modern interpretive structures.  The description often hard to visualize. The most memorable for me was “The Offering” the smallest of all but it tore a whole in my heart.  The hands holding the infant are the mother and the father. Their child ends up sacrificed in war for the freedom of others. My heart breaks for those parents who lovingly raise a child with no idea what the future holds. 

We poked around some stores, walked over the Wabash river on the pedestrian bridge, and finally ended up in the “Java Roaster” sitting on a big comfy couch, listening to soft jazz and enjoying a delicious coffee. It was great to sink into the softness after spending so much time in a vehicle. We lingered there a while savouring the coffee and the atmosphere.

Next stop was the Battle grounds where Harrison had camped and the Indian leader, the Prophet attacked and lost. This led up to the War of 1812. The Battle happened on the banks of the Tippecanoe river.  It felt rather strange to walk the grounds where so many lost their life and to realize that the same trees were still there. One  tree still had the marks of bullets in it.  

 

I am skeptical... but the sign claims these are bullet holes from the battle in 1811

 

 

 

Indiana claims to be the covered bridge capital of the world. We found a map and set the GPS for covered bridges and we were off on the road again. We were headed south and soon found what we were looking for. Covered bridges in abundance.  It was fun, some we were able to drive through, others  were off to the side of the road   We enjoyed playing in and around various bridges.

I took the dare and climbed the wall inside the covered bridge (one that had no cars)

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ABC in Indiana (Art, Battles and Covered Bridges)

  1. edebock says:

    Wow, Maggie, we really do have a lot in common! Richard & I explored the covered bridges of New Brunswick in June 2009 & Iowa last July. You can find photos of some of them on my blog.

Leave a Reply

