pawn shops, poverty and potholes.


 I am writing this in a laundromat. I thought this was a vacation? Ok, no complaining. We are running out of clean clothes. We are in a small Indiana town on our way south. Yes, we have decided to head south to get out of the rain and cold. I am not sure how far south we have to go. It looks like there are national forests in the southern part of this state. That looks like somewhere we would like to check out. We are making decisions on the fly, no agenda and no constraints. We need to be in B.C. before June 26th, our only deadline.

 This morning we had a great time checking out pawn shops. There are a lot in the South Bend area. John wanted to find a second camera with a telephoto lens. This was my first experience in a pawn shop. I loved looking at the jewelry the best. I was tempted a couple of times, but exercised restraint and walked away empty-handed. There is a dark feel to walking in the doors; somehow it reminds me of back alleys and gangsters. The shelves crowded with a myriad of goods from old junky speakers to big screen TV’s. The most disturbing; the racks of guns and knives on display. Some of the shops were in really seedy neighbourhoods. The whole experience had a sinister feel to it. We went to several different stores. In trying to get to one location, the road was closed for a bridge repair. The turn we made, took us into a section of town I would rather not have seen. Lots of houses were boarded up. Many others were in need of major repair. It is very sad to see such poverty. I am very thankful for what I have. I appreciate the opportunity I have to explore this neighbouring country. It makes me thankful that I am a Canadian although I know that poverty is everywhere. There are some very nice areas, but overall, there is a noticeable brokenness here. From the closed down stores, to the patches on the patches on every street, the effect of the recession is visible everywhere.

Laundry done, we drove south to Lafayette. On the way we saw a sign for a historic bridge. Indiana is the Covered Bridge capital of the world, so I looked forward to seeing one. To our great dismay, the cover wasn’t what I expected… I am sure the bridge has some historical significance, but I was a disappointed.

We carried on and were rewarded with seeing deer. Seven in all. I managed to catch a group of four as they bounded away. and then the sunset was magnificent. A great ending to the day.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip, random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to pawn shops, poverty and potholes.

  1. gpawn says:

    Very nicely done! Looking forward to getting back to Canada soon! Lovely country, great people…life as it should be. Be safe!
    gpawn

  2. Jill Stewart says:

    Dear Marg and John, we are following all your adventures with great interest. It seems you are having a lot of different experience, and living for the moment. You go girl! Loved your sunset and the sculpture of the child being held in his parents hands.
    What a lot of new info you are imparting. You should have been a teacher like your Mom. Congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary! love Jill and Lawrence.

Leave a Reply

