From the Lake to Moses


We woke up to a sunny Indiana day. Time to look for an adventure. We are trying to avoid major highways, preferring the county roads that take us  through small towns. John was not feeling well, he is coming down with a cold, so he slept while I drove. Our final destination for the day would be South Bend to see David at Notre Dame University, but I headed us to Chain O Lakes State Park. I felt like a hike in the woods. Poor John, He didn’t want to stay behind so I gave him some cold meds and off we went. It felt so good to have the sun on my face. We are always on the lookout for wildlife. This little fella was the wildest we found. 

The wild flowers were beautiful I couldn’t resist taking pictures.

I especially loved the trees in bloom.

 

We went for a nice hike around a lake. nothing too strenuous but we had fun. 

It was time to head to South Bend up by the Michigan border to see David. We couldn’t get hold of him by phone, so we arrived at the university with no idea where he was. We found the visitors centre and they were able to point us to the right building. We had about an hour to poke around the grounds before David was off work. I didn’t know that Notre Dame is a Catholic University.

There is a beautiful church there called

 St Mary’s Basilica. 

Very ornate, with lots of gold and beautiful artwork on the ceilings.

Just had to take a picture of the golden dome on the Admin Building

David told us about the mural on the side of one of the buildings of Jesus with his arms outstretched. Around him are people throughout history. The mural can be seen from the football stadium over the end zone so they refer to it as “touchdown Jesus”

There are statues here and there around the grounds. It was this particular one that made me stop in shock… I found it quite disturbing. Moses is standing on a calf, clutching the ten commandments with his hand raised in the air and a crazed look in his eye.

I remember the story … he was

upset with Aaron and the gang and threw down the tablets..

but … are those horns??

Maybe I am seeing things.

We met up with David and he took us to a great Italian restaurant where we had a delicious dinner and a great chat.. a chance to catch up. Thanks again David for a yummy dinner and visit with you.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From the Lake to Moses

  1. Peggy says:

    Hi Marg,
    It is great to hear about your adventures along the way. I hope to do the same on my Greek Island trip this fall, so I am gaining inspiration from your lead. Enjoy the process and we will see you when you get to this end!

Leave a Reply

