Dunes in Wine Country


The sun was shining on us yesterday as we explored the Presque Isle State Park. It is a giant sand dune protecting Erie, Pennsylvania. Long and skinny, there is a walking trail that winds around the edges.

We hiked a fair amount of it, and drove some. The sand dunes are amazing and so are the beaches. The sand is soft and fine and very clean. As I walked, my feet sank into it and it felt so good. We explored the beach for a while, I felt like going swimming, but we weren’t prepared for that and besides, it is the state law, “no swimming without a lifeguard… “

There was another sign telling us “do not feed the wildlife”. They did not warn me that I should not help the wildlife off the road, so I gave this little fellow a ride to the side. He wasn’t big, maybe 10 inches long and he said thank you nicely.

Good deed for the day done, we went geocaching.

There were several treasures hidden in the park. I love treasure hunting more than the treasure.

Look carefully and you may find me. This was a particularly difficult treasure.

As we entered the wooded area there was an ominous sign.

I was wearing a hat. I have escaped tickless.

We also noticed an interesting plant along the pathway. Is this what I think it is?

This park is dangerous!!Never mind feeding the wildlife, what about the wildlife attacking us?

We decided to get out while still in one piece.

We needed to get that lighter fixed so we could use our multitude of electronic gadgets. We found a GM dealer and while they said they were too busy to help, John did his talking, you know what I mean, and we soon left, new lighter installed and the cost? $4.39 Wow. Thank you.

We headed west toward Ohio. This is wine country. Grape vines stood on either side of the road with pretty weeds covering the paths between the rows. 

We enjoyed a dinner cooked over a camp stove in a lovely rest stop and found a comfy nook to tuck into for the night. Today it looks like a rainy day.. I wonder what adventures we can get into?

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dunes in Wine Country

  1. Ann Robertson says:

    Am really enjoying your day to day blog of your trip! I live vicariously through you!

Leave a Reply

