Terry’s good deed


I am amazed that it can take so long to leave a house. We were so anxious to get underway yet, there seems to be a million little things to do. A final load of laundry, change the sheets, pack the cooler, crazy things. We finally hit the road at noon. I could feel the calm settle within my soul as the miles ticked by. I relaxed back in my seat and enjoyed the ride.

We crossed the border at Buffalo and drove along the coast heading west. We turned onto the secondary roads as soon as we could, we are in no hurry. It was soon time to stop and make coffee and enjoy a snack. I dug out the new coffee maker, filled it and plugged it into the lighter and waited. Nothing happened. I tried again, unplugged it and plugged it in again and pushed the on button. Nothing happened.  After puzzling about it, we decided to turn the car on. Success. Coffee started to drip through. Again we waited. I looked again after a few minutes. Nothing was happening. I noticed the light was out. I pressed the button. Nothing happened.  Confused, we unplugged the coffee pot and plugged in the GPS.. It didn’t work either. We had been warned. Bring extra fuses… we were told. Never mind, we would stop as soon as we could and have the fuse replaced. Off we went.

We were in the small town of Silver Creek. John noticed a garage and we pulled in. Terry was very helpful. He tested each of the fuses to find out which one was blown. Puzzled, he checked again. All the fuses were fine.

He pulled off the panel and tested the lighter itself. Ah ha… the back was getting power, but the front was not. He couldn’t fix it; he did not have the part. He even phoned the dealer nearby; they were unable to supply the part either. He sent us on our way with directions to another town where we would be helped, but not until tomorrow. When we asked how much we owed him… he simply replied, he did not fix anything so there would be no charge.

It is nice to know that there are honest and helpful people ready to give their time to help a stranger and ask nothing in return. Thank you Terry.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Roadtrip and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Terry’s good deed

  1. Melissa says:

    I’m glad the right person was in your path. Is the van ok now?
    Keep the stories and pictures coming, I can live vicariously through you:)

  2. edebock says:

    So excited that you’re on your way! Can’t wait to enjoy the trip through your eyes.

Leave a Reply

