Can dogs go to summer camp too?


Today we had to take Sidney to apply for summer camp. She would have to be assessed to make sure she would be a suitable camper. This is no ordinary camp. She was very excited as we drove to Uxbridge. She could not sit still. We could hear her whining “Are we there yet?” in her most enthusiastic voice. The drive to Uxbridge took us about forty minutes. The camp is located in a rural area. We were greeted at the door and invited into the office. “Dogs at Camp” is an open concept facility where the dogs spend their days in a very large fenced in area with other dogs. There is a barn with a heated floor and a number of stalls where the animals can rest, eat and spend the night.

Once we understood how the camp operated, we were taken to the fenced in yard. Sidney was introduced to one dog at a time while they assessed her for socialization. They wanted to make sure that she would fit in with the other dogs. Sidney’s hackles went up immediately. I held my breath.  She barked and investigated each dog as more and more entered the yard, one at a time. My fingers crossed, I hope she would pass. It was difficult to determine how she would behave normally because she was very protective of John and I. Every time another dog came near us, Sidney came to our rescue and chased them away.  After a while, the two of us went back inside, leaving Sydney with the camp counsellor. We peaked out a window hoping to see her playing nicely. That did not happen.  She did not bite anybody or actually fight with another dog but she spent her time  looking for us. Basically, she neither passed, nor failed and would need to spend a weekend there to really decide if she would be accepted as a camper.  I am glad that they are strict in the criteria for the campers.    

The facility is well taken care of. The field was muddy but kept clean of dog poop. The barn was clean and large. It seemed like the dogs would be well looked after with a counsellor outdoors with the dogs at all times to ensure the safety of all the animals. Pleased with the visit, I hope Sidney will be accepted for this special summer camp. I want her to make some friends and enjoy her vacation when we are all away enjoying ours.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can dogs go to summer camp too?

  1. Pingback: Deal Grater » Summer Camp for One Day ($20) or One Week ($62)

  2. Pingback: One Week of Half-Day Children’s Summer Camp at The Little Gym. Nine Locations Available. » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

