Osama is dead: now what?


Osama bin Laden Killed; ID Confirmed by DNA Te...

Image by Phoenix Lights via Flickr

Osama is dead. There are celebrations. Some are feeling the satisfaction that he has paid the price. The question remains.. What will change? Will the US and other countries pull out of the Middle East? I doubt it. There are always going to be extremists. Some are on the side of good and some are on the evil side. Deciding which side you are on depends upon your personal situation and point of view. Is it a good thing to have troops in places like Iraq and  Afghanistan? Are the troops actually making a difference? Are the lives of the citizens of those countries improved? Does anybody care? Do you wonder if the average citizen of Iraq notices that the Americans officially ended combat in Iraq last year?

I wonder if we could end the fighting. What would the world be like if all the money spent on war could be used in the pursuit of a better life. I wonder if Canada and the USA would take the budget spent on war and focus and come up with an alternative fuel, would we care about the Middle East? “We” didn’t care about Rwanda, the only reason anyone cared about Libya was because of the oil. Look at how the market reacted and we in North America do not even use oil from Libya.

I know that there are oppressed people in many countries. We only want to free them if there is a gain to be made. Or so it seems to me. What about the people of Sudan? What about the people of North Korea?

-Khartoum,Sudan-

Image by Vít Hassan via Flickr

 

This whole thing makes me sad. I understand that we have to deal with Terrorists. I want our country to be safe. I do not want to have to watch over my shoulder. I enjoy freedom. I just know that Osama is dead and my life will not change.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Osama is dead: now what?

  1. sanstorm says:

    You make a lot of valid points about politicians’ motivation.

  2. Porchia lynch says:

    Love reading your posts !!! I doubt now that Bin Laden is dead , that our troops will be pulled! It is sad but true!!! Love your blog keep it coming !!

Leave a Reply

