Royal wedding?.. Yes indeed.


Royal Wedding of William and Catherine Duke & ...

Image by Defence Images via Flickr

OK I confess, I did get up at 5 am to watch “The Wedding”  What is it that fascinates us about Royal Weddings? What enchants us?

I have inherited the interest through my mother. She was a Royal watcher. I remember travelling to Nanaimo when Princess Margaret visited. We stood and waited while she cut a huge cake. I think I was most interested in getting a piece of cake then.

Prince Charles was born the same year as I was, so I felt some strange connection. My mother always watched the “Queens message” on TV and made sure she lined up for every parade for every royal who came near her home. My mom’s favorite visit from the Queen happened while she was a teacher. Her small school of mentally handicapped children all lined up along the “walk-about” route. One small girl was chosen to present flowers to the queen. They had practised and were ready. The queen approached. Mom made sure the girl was in the front. The Queen greeted the girl. Mom told her to give her the flowers. The little girl said “no, I want to give them to the Queen”. The Queen told her, “I am the Queen”, to which the girl said emphatically  ” No you’re not, you don’t have a crown!” The Queen had a chuckle and had to confess she left her crown at home. Reluctantly the girl parted with the flowers.

The fascination is with a life I do not live. A life filled with elegance and luxury. It is all the tradition and ceremony that comes with a day like this. The carriage ride, the romance of life in a palace. I think it has to do also with Diana. This is her son. We want the best for him. Of course we also have the commoner Kate thrown in to add to the magic. The dream of every little girl is to be a princess.  

Prince Charming (TV film)

Image via Wikipedia

 

I heard many Fairy Tales of princesses and kings. I dreamt that one day I too could be swept away by my Prince Charming and live happily ever after.

Wait a minute… today is my wedding anniversary. It was 44 years ago that I was swept away (literally swept from BC to Nova Scotia) by my Price Charming. He took me away from my old life and promised me a new life. The best part is that we are still living happily ever after.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

