I have a question.


Procrastination Meter

Image by Emilie Ogez via Flickr

I have a question. Do other writers get stuck? Do “real” writers write like crazy then come to a standstill for a time? Is it just me? Why am I feeling stuck? Why do I have such a hard time getting into it all of a sudden?

I have written a good portion of a novel I really believe in. I know where it is going, I know the characters and their quirks. I enjoy the process of developing the story. I wonder if it is because the situations and the storyline are somewhat based on my life, on my feelings. I thought it would be easier to write about feelings I experienced.  I wonder if I am procrastinating just because it is getting harder. Not harder to write exactly, but harder to feel the story. Am I avoiding writing because I am too attached to my characters? I do not like to see them in pain. I want to write around the tough parts. I am tempted to make things easier for them. I know I have to be honest in my writing. My heart can’t take it. Perhaps I will be in a better frame of mind in the winter. Perhaps the distractions will be gone by then.

Gloria Steinem said “Writing is the only thing that, when i do it, I don’t feel I should be doing anything else.”

I feel the same way once I get going. It is just the getting going.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

