I am Thirsty


Glass of Water

Image via Wikipedia

Something is missing. There is so much going on now, but something is missing. I am busy preparing for the upcoming trip. I am busy exercising and walking and preparing for the big walk on Sunday. I am hungry but not for food. I am thirsty but water does not satisfy me. The longing is deeper than that.

Have you ever had a yearning for something, but you don’t know what it is? I rummage around, eating this and that yet, I am still craving something. That is how my heart feels. I need something for my spirit, for my soul. I am restless, I am cranky. What is wrong with me?

We all thirst. It is part of being a human. We all seem to have a spiritual need within us that cries out for something.  There is a hole in our soul that we need to fill. We search and search. We try to fill the hole with work, with various pleasures but we remain unsatisfied. It is a spiritual thirst. We are spiritual beings. We need to fill the hole with something spiritual. There are a lot of choices out there but only one choice for me.

I know what I need. I know what will satisfy my thirst. A battle is raging within me.  I can hear God calling me back to him. Why am I resisting? Where did these walls come from?

I remember the wonderful relationship we had. Then I had to go back to work. I did not want to. I fought hard to stay home. I resented having to work. I allowed that resentment to create a wedge between my God and me.

I have since retired. I have no excuses. I know what I need to do. 

Prayer is the language

Image by Lel4nd via Flickr

 

 Jesus said:  “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink.” John 7:37 

.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

