I am trying Yoga


 

I am really enjoying the yoga classes at Fitness Force. I started going maybe six weeks ago and I have noticed a remarkable improvement in my flexibility. I need all the help I can get at my age.

 I know that keeping my muscles and joints flexible is just as important as the strength training that I am doing. The class usually starts with some warm-up moves and progresses through a number of poses. I enjoy feeling the stretch of my muscles as I attempt to get into the correct position. Each week there is a small improvement. I have not learned the names of most of the poses. To me, that is not important. I am not interested in the philosophy behind yoga and in no way want to involve myself with any yoga religious practices. I just want to attend the classes and gain flexibility. I am now able to bend from the hips and place my hands flat on the floor. There are some poses that are still a work in progress. I have an issue with my feet cramping and Sue is gracious enough to include poses that allow me to work on stretching my feet. Each week I get wee bit closer to my goal.

Balance is another benefit. I am still having trouble maintaining my balance when I stand on one foot, well sometimes even when I am on two feet there is a balance issue, but I think I am improving there too. I enjoy trying and I am thrilled with each gain I make.

 There is another benefit. I find I am breathing deeper. Using my lungs to their full capacity feels very cleansing. I feel that if I can breathe deeply enough, I can rid myself of some of the toxins, but that’s just me. Breathing at the right time as each pose progresses makes a difference.  My favourite part of the class, however, is at the end. Sue has us lying on our mats. We spend some time concentrating on breathing. I am able to allow the gentle music to soothe my soul. I am transported to the seashore as I listen to the waves gently caressing the sand. Other days I feel like I am in a mountain meadow. There is a brook nearby and I can hear the water dancing over the rocks. It is this kind of music that I listen to each night as I fall asleep. I think  I am hooked.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am trying Yoga

  1. Trina says:

    Beautiful photos.
    Love, Light & Blessings
    Trina z

Leave a Reply

