I am new and improved and eating baked kale


A wooden table containing: a ladle full of bea...

Image via Wikipedia

I have enrolled in a photography class. It specifically teaches on the technical side of using a DSLR. I have used a film DSLR before, so I know the theory behind all the settings but I need to brush up and improve. There is always room for improvement. This is part of my transformation.

My retirement goal is to improve. I want to do some things I didn’t have time for while I worked. I have excercisd regularly and I have tried to improve what we eat. We have cut out most of the white stuff from our diet. The white bread, the white rice. that sort of thing. We are choosing whole grain cereal and bread, we are eating lots of colourful veggies and lots of fruit. I have also cut down on the meat I eat. One of the biggest problems I am having is finding ways to consume enough protein. I need some tips from a vegetarian. I am eating fish and eggs and chicken. I am trying to cut down on the cheese because it has animal fat which is not good for my heart. 

I have watched Dr Oz. He has some wonderful tips on improving a diet. We have been eating a lot of blueberries, I am buying Greek yoghurt, and I am adding ground flax-seed to my cereal. I eat lots of dark green veggies, especially broccoli and salad greens like spinach. I have tried kale and bok-choy and enjoy them very much, I need a few more recipes for serving Kale. 

Kale chips are a great way to have a low-calorie snack, It is like eating potato chips.  under 100 calories per serving, no cholesterol and some good nutrients like vitamin A and vitamin C, potassium and manganese

Baked Kale Chips   

1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon paprika
3 large handfuls kale, torn into shreds
1 to 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

Pre-heat the oven to 350°. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil or parchment paper.  Rinse the kale leaves, then pat dry with papers towels or dry in a spinner. Those leaves need to be bone dry. remove the leaves from the stem and tear into pieces.

Put the kale leaves in a large bowl. Drizzle over 1 tablespoon of the olive oil. Massage the oil into the leaves. Add more oil if you need to.

 Arrange the kale chips on the sheet and put it into the oven. Bake until the leaves are crisp to the touch but still a dark green.about 10-12 minutes, but keep checking, you do not want them to turn brown.  (When they turn brown, they turn bitter.)

Remove them from the oven. Sprinkle with seasoned salt.

Sit back and enjoy.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

