wwwp5k – Meeting the Challenged 5K


The Challenge: to walk/run 5k

I walk often and in fact, I am currently training for a half marathon walk, which is 21k, so I used this challenge from Word Press as part of my training. The difference – I took my camera along.  My husband joined me and we took Sydney along because she loves to go for walks. We decided to walk along the lake.

http://www.mapmywalk.com/routes/view/31284434

 I live in a beautiful part of Ontario, our town of Keswick is on Lake Simcoe… Its claim to fame; “Ice Fishing Capital of Canada” It is a bit late in the season for going on the ice, we are, however, still waiting for the ice to melt.

There are lots of signs to guide us and warn us as we walk:

Good thing I didn’t plan on swimming today.

There are a lot of “no’s”.  No dogs in the park?, ok, I understand that. No Martini’s? Really? No loitering? Wait a minute… isn’t that what a park if for?  We did not want to break any rules today, so we shook our heads and decided to keep walking.

The road winds as it follows the lakeshore.

I remember a small marina in this tiny bay. It is gone now and there is some new construction started. I will have to come back and see it as it progresses.

The sun is trying to burn away the clouds, but the sky is still grey.

There is very little wind making the day very pleasant for walking. There is a drop in temperature here by the lake. The ice has a cooling effect. You can notice the difference a block or two away from the lake.

Even the trees are encouraging us to keep walking, and raises a hand to point the way.

Sydney is looking for a place to get into the water. She is a swimmer, she loves to jump in to chase a stick. Today it is too cold, but she does need to have a drink. At this point in the lake, access to the water is difficult.

She is afraid on the rocks and clings on for dear life.

Finally a place to have a cold drink.

As Sydney was drinking the cold water, I glanced out over the lake. Is that a … gulp… dead body embedded in the ice? Some poor ice-fisherman who fell down the hole?

I convinced myself it was just a rolled up blanket? maybe? but decided it was time to turn around and hi-tail it home. We were right in front of Orchard Beach Lakefront Bar and Grill, that was far enough. I really like this restaurant, it has a great view and I love their Portobello Mushroom wrap. Today we just had a quick coffee, it was time to head home.

We are responsible dog owners and always scoop the poop.

Nestled in the leaves, there is a sign of spring. I love the Yellow, they are not dandelions but look very similar. Does anyone know what these yellow flowers are called?

The sun broke through the clouds and our shadows fell on some grass that was greening up nicely.

I have always liked this rock fence which surrounds a beautiful lakefront home.

Summer toys are just hanging around waiting for the ice to melt. Come on spring, it is already April!

It is spring! Someone has tapped their maple tree.. I have made a note of the address. I will be looking for some home-made maple syrup.

A robin, that is confirmation, Spring has arrived to southern Ontario, the frozen lake is  just old man winter desperately clinging on as long as he can.

According to my Garmin Forerunner, we have met the challenge and exceeded it. in just a hair under two hours we have walked 8.32km, according to “Map My Walk”, it is only 7.84. I guess that makes sense, because we did hang out at the restaurant for a bit and sometimes took a quick look around the water’s edge.  I feel satisfied, I have exercised and accomplished the task at hand. The dog had a great walk and is now sleeping. It was a good day.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to wwwp5k – Meeting the Challenged 5K

  1. Maggie L R says:

    Thank you for the great info. I am putting those places on our itinerary.. Drumheller is on there already. the Hotsprings sounds wonderful. I will think of you as we drive through Alberta. and relax at the hotsprings. I want to find more hotsprings to go to. I know there are some hidden gems that are not commercialized..

  2. edebock says:

    I did my 5k yesterday & was also looking for signs of spring out here in Alberta. It’s been such a long winter! Thanks for sharing your walk. I especially enjoyed the photos!

    • Maggie L R says:

      Thankyou for your encouragement. We will be coming to Alberta in the summer. Can you suggest any places we should see that are not in all the tourist books? We hope to drive through the south one way and back from the Yukon through northern Alberta.

      • edebock says:

        When you’re in the southern part of the province, don’t miss the Drumheller valley & the Royal Tyrrell Museum there. Definitely world class.

        The Yukon is gorgeous in the summer. Enjoy! On your way south, the Liard River Hotsprings in northeastern BC are well worth stopping for.

        If we were going to be home, I’d invite you to stop by for a visit but we’ll be away most of the summer.

Leave a Reply

