Another election we cannot afford? What a waste.


Last night I was bothered by the thought of another election. Too much time and money wasted. I could not sleep. I cannot see any good reason for another election. Canada has managed to escape this economic downturn in better shape than most other countries. The Canadian government needs to keep focused on the job they were elected to do without interruption. Taking their eyes off running the country will mean delays in dealing with the matters at hand. There are bills that need to addressed. We have Afghanistan and Libya, we have unemployment issues, a huge debt. There are better ways of spending the taxpayers money. It mattered not what the budget contained, the Liberals were going to reject it. Why would we want to vote for any party that simply wants power for the sake of power and shows no sign of caring about the Canadian people. If we truly had anyone to choose that would care more for Canadians than their own glory, I would be first in line to join their campaign. We will be subjected to weeks of name-calling and childish bad-mouthing by supposedly intelligent people wanting to lead this country. If they would grow up and stop their playground antics, I would be more interested in listening. For once can we have a campaign that tells us honestly what each side truly believes and will strive to do? I doubt it. That would mean accountability. That would mean honesty. I must be living in a dream-world if I think there is a chance of an honest campaign.
I wonder if the liberals or any party for that matter, would be interested in another election if the cost had to be paid out of party funds and not from the taxpayer.
I enjoy the freedom we have in Canada. I really do try to keep up with politics. I always try my best to decipher what the issues are in any given election. I want to make an informed decision. I always head to the polls to cast my vote. I wish that more people would. I know how hard it is to weed through the mumbo jumbo. I always wonder how many of the promises will be broken.
I am glad I was able to get that off my chest and into words. Perhaps I can sleep tonight.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

