Training for the Half Marathon walk


I registered to walk the Half Marathon in the “Run for Southlake”. I wanted to help raise funds for the Hospital and thought about taking it easy, maybe just support by sponsoring someone else, but decided instead to go for the gusto. I know it will take a toll on me. I need to be fit for the upcoming road trip. I need to lose a few more pounds and what better way than training for a particular goal. I have read a lot about the various aspects to walking. I thought I knew how to walk. Just one foot in front of the other right? It seems there is much more to walking long distances than that.

1: Stride: In the past, I have been told that my stride was too short. While that may be true for running, walking is a different matter. The momentum comes from the push-off from behind, not the stretch in front. I can keep my short stride and walk comfortably.
2: Shoulders: My shoulders are another issue. Usually, I do not pay attention to them until they start hurting. I am learning that I should shrug my shoulders a few times and then relax them. I know this is good advice for me. I tend to raise my shoulders, keeping them tense while I do almost everything, then I complain because they are aching. I must remember, relax my shoulders, and keep them slightly back to avoid pain.
3: Posture: Chin up, suck in the tummy, rotate hips forward slightly, keep the eyes focus twenty feet ahead, keep the body straight, no lean. Think tall. Remebering all this wil help avoid back pain.
4: Arms: What, I have to think about my arms too? apparently yes. Keep arms bent at the elbow and swing slightly, not raising them above the breastbone because that will be too tiring. I must also remember to relax my hands, Clenching my fists will raise my blood pressure and I do not want that happening on a long walk.

I am ready to walk.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
Aside | This entry was posted in random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Training for the Half Marathon walk

  1. pawsitivelife says:

    All the best on your walk ( I have done two half marathons in the past), I know it sounds silly but it is hoenstly one foot in front of another…half marathons are all mental

Leave a Reply

