Algonquin Park is a Great Place for Stargazing


I saw the coolest thing.

Moon | Bulan Di Lingkari Bulatan 31/10/09 2245hrs

On a warm and clear summer night, while we were on a canoe trip in the interior of Algonquin Park in Ontario. We spent a couple of hours laying on the flat rocks on the waters edge. We were able to see millions of stars because we were in the wilderness far from any source of light. It was mid August, just when the Persaid Meteor showers were at its peak. We saw one shooting star after another, on and on into the night. We were mesmerized.

On a different canoe trip, again in Algonquin park, we experienced a beautiful, full moon right after a rain storm, The sun had just gone down. The moon was so full and so bright that we actually saw a rainbow around the moon. I have never seen anything like that since. It was something I will never forget.

Powered by Plinky

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Algonquin Park is a Great Place for Stargazing

  1. Pingback: Audio Track: Booth Lake | Alison Amazed

Leave a Reply

