The Sportsman Show


Always looking for adventure, John and I decided to go to Toronto to check out the Sportsman Show. We drove down to the subway at Finch. It is cheaper to pay the $5.00 parking fee at the subway and take the rocket. Being country folk, a ride on the subway feels adventurous. I always wonder if there is a rule somewhere that states “no talking allowed” as most people had their noses in a book or a cell phone, never looking at the person next to them, let along speaking to them.
Once at the Metro Convention Centre, we went to pay the entrance fee and I had my first disappointment. 😦 They let me in as a “senior” without asking for ID. I felt crushed. I would have paid the full fee had I been asked. No one asked. Remember when you wanted to sneak in places you were not yet old enough for? Oh well, get used to it Marg and enjoy the discounts.

There was a crowd there. We milled with the masses, going from booth to booth, seeking places of interest. The majority of the booths were dedicated to hunting and fishing. We do minimal fishing and NEVER hunt.
I was, however, drawn to one of the fly-in fishing lodge booths. Picking up the brochure, I close my eyes. I drift away.. I imagine the solitude, waking up at dawn, the only sound is the lonely call of a distant loon. There is a mist hanging over the water, a chill in the air. I can smell the bacon cooking. I open the door to a rustic log cabin, step onto the porch which is just a few feet from the water’s edge… I open my eyes to take in the beauty, breathe the fresh air and find myself face to face with an enormous price tag.. Reality hits me over the head. Oh well, moving on…
We found a few gadgets of interest, bought a collection of odd stuff, such as bug nets that fit into a tiny pouch. We will pack them in our knapsack and pull them out at the first sign of a mosquito attack.
There are endless booths in several rooms. Boats, kayaks, canoes, tents, guns, fishing rods and lures. There are booths selling outdoor clothing, mostly with a camouflage design. Endless Lodges were trying to interest us in visiting. We could book a river rafting excursion or fly to Nunavut to see the polar bears. There was even a place one could arrange an African safari to hunt for wild animals… I wanted to get up on a soapbox and shout to the milling masses for help in saving the animals.
We did make one large purchase. We bought a “Backroads Mapbook” for our GPS for both Ontario and BC.. the only two provinces available so far. We were able to get the Ontario one on the spot, however, the nice young lad took our money and promised to ship the other one to us when he got back to the office in BC next week. It was about an hour later when we realized that although he took our cash and gave us his business card, that was all we had.. his card. No receipt, no paper to say that we had paid in advance for the product. We were showing our country folk trust in our fellow man. Again reality reared its ugly head. We knew what we had to do. We wandered about trying to find exactly where that Mapbook booth was. Eventually, we spotted the nice young man and asked for a receipt. He willingly obliged, making us feel a little better and a little less foolish..
The best booth I found offered chair massages. For a mere ten dollars, I could sit down, close my eyes and recieve a back massage. Ten minutes of heaven. The absolute best value at the show.
With aching feet, we headed back to the subway and home. We did stop at “The Fish House” on Woodbine somewhere for a nice dinner. Our way of celberating St Patricks day.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sportsman Show

  1. Maggie L R says:

    I am happy to report that we did hear from Joshua. He has sent the BC Backyard Mapbook to us as promised. I knew we could trust him. People are generally good and I am very glad of that.

Leave a Reply

