What a quote from a movie can do.


How do you think?

112/365 – Eat, Pray, Love

One of my favorite movies to quote is "Eat, Pray, Love" written by Elizabeth Gilbert. I am not sure if it so much the movie that I enjoy quoting, as the book itself. As I read the book, I found myself with a highlighter in my hand, marking the parts I liked. My copy of the book is very yellow.

One of the many quotes I like is: "Balance is not letting anyone love you less than you love yourself"

I found myself wondering; do I love myself? really? Do I accept nothing less from others? I hope so.

Another quote I like is:

"Do not look at the world through your head; look at it through your heart."

The world has a big influence on our thinking. We are programmed in a lot of ways, unwilling victims of the media, of the school systems, even of our family. Our society has a lot to do with how we think. Our employment, our friends, our religion or lack thereof, all form who we are. We know in our head what we ae supposed to do or be, how we are supposed to act, even how we are expected to think. I am led to wonder if I can overcome my coonditioning and truly follow my heart. As I get older, I have become freer to be who I am, to disagree when my heart tells me to. I have been able to loose the chains of conformity, my heart has been set free to overrule my brain. I am free to live my life in whatever colours I choose.

I am loving the freedom and looking forward to ever-increasing growth and change.

Are you?

Powered by Plinky

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

