The Walk That Got Away


Sydney

John and I decided to take the dog for a walk on Sunday afternoon. What began as an ordinary walk, became quite extraordinary. We walked the few blocks to the Queensway and headed south. It was a fairly pleasant day, rather grey, no sunshine, no rain, no snow. The sidewalks were almost dry. Sydney, the German Shepherd, was behaving normally. Not nicely, she does not behave as other dogs do on a leash. Sydney failed obedience classes. She wants to run everywhere and pulls against her leash. We had to put a “Haltee” on her. She hates it but off we went. We walked and walked and before we knew it, we were at the church on Hollywood which is about 5 km from our house. I think John and I were in “competition mode”. Neither one of us would admit we should turn around. We kept walking… and walking… and walking. Up the hill and down to Ravenshoe road. Rather than head to Queensville, we turned to head toward Woodbine Avenue .The sidewalk ends just a short distance along Ravenshoe. We were stuck walking on the shoulder of the road. We tried to keep Sydney out of the mud. We failed. At Ravenshoe and Woodbine we turned again, this time toward home. walking amid the construction zone.. The road is in the midst of being widened from two lanes to four. I cannot believe we actually kept going. We past the gas station on the corner where we could have called home for a ride. We went past Wal-Mart without a glance. We even went past Tim Hortons without stopping. We just kept going.  My baby toe started to hurt. I had caught it a few days ago on the leg of the coffee table. You know how painful that can be, yet I could not complain. I did not want to be the one to “give”. I was going to keep on going. I could feel the muscles in my thighs aching. My hip joints were crying. Each time we came to a crossroad, I prayed for a green light so that I did not have to stop. I knew if I stopped, I would lose the momentum and I would not get going again. I was in remote control. Left, right, left, right. Past huge piles of sand and gravel. Past tractors and rows of huge pipes. On and on.
I can’t believe that we bought a house on a hill. No matter where we walk to, we have to go uphill to get home. The final 5 blocks were the worst. It wasn’t all that steep but after walking so far it seemed like a cliff. We fell in the door and collapsed. Our wonderful daughter had dinner waiting for us on the stove.
How far did we walk? I had an urgent need to know so… that night, I drove the route we took, just to find out.. it was a whopping 14.7km.
You know, I have been thinking. I think I will be able to walk the half marathon on May 1st for Southlake Hospital.. A half marathon is only 21.1km Yes, I will need to get out there and work up my endurance. I will have to dedicate this next six weeks to getting my muscles in shape. For now, this is my plan and my new goal.  I pray God will give me the strength to do it.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

