The long and winding road to fitness.


Fitness is on my mind a lot lately. I spent 45 minutes on the treadmill today.  The boring treadmill. I like it because the impact of the walking strengthens my bones. I try to burn as many calories as I can without running very much. I want to make sure I keep my knees free from pain. I did run for about 5 or 6 minutes (in 2 minute increments) but I prefer to increase the incline. I start at 2 and jump it up to 5 then on up 1 at a time until I reach 10. I managed to go just over 3 miles, which does not sound far to me but most of the time I was walking at 3.9 with an incline of between 3 and 5

If this weather clears up, we can try another long walk across town. If we go from our house to Hollywood and back it is almost 10km.

I have been trying to strengthen my core by doing The PLANK.. yikes that is a tough one.

The proper way is to start in a push-up position, but keep your hands directly under your shoulders, not out to the side. Keep your legs extended behind you, with your feet together. There should be a straight flat line to your body. not sagging, no butt in the air. You balance on your hands and the balls of your feet. Hold this position for as long as you can, working up to one minute. It is a lot harder than it sounds! Currently I cheat by using my forearms, not my hands. I can keep the position about 40 seconds. The road to fitness is very long and difficult. I think I fell into a pothole today. My body aches.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

