Choosing a Diet.


Number one on my “to do” list, as I begin my new retired life, is choosing a diet. I have started to do some research, I decided to be an informed consumer. I want something I can stick to. I have a few rules which makes comparing and choosing harder.

My simple rules are:

  1. A diet cannot be boring or I will not stick it out.
  2. A diet needs to include all the food groups. (Is chocolate a food group?)
  3. A diet should not cost me any money. (I want this to be a lifelong plan)
  4. A diet should not include small, frozen dinners.
  5. A diet should include easy to prepare, real food that I can serve my family, including a hungry teenage boy.
  6. A diet will not include pills or crazy drink concoctions.

I googled “diet plans” and “choosing the right diet” and the options are overwhelming. Everything from South Beach to Nutrisystem to Dr Bernstein to Weight Watchers. and the list goes on. All promise they are the one that works best.

I lost a lot of weight some years ago following the South Beach Diet. It is a low carb diet.

Now I only have about 15 pounds to lose, so I think I will try something like the South Beach Diet again. I cannot face starting at the beginning. I did stage one last time. It is drastic and cuts out all carbs including fruit for the first two weeks. It did work and I lost twenty pounds in the first two weeks, but I think it would be too much for me to follow right now. I want a plan that will change my eating habits forever. The yo-yo dieting I have done in the past has not worked in the long run. I need to change my habits. I need to throw off the old self who would order pizza rather than cook.

After looking at all the options, I have decided to make a plan of my own.

 My diet will include:

  1. Whole grains only. nothing refined.
  2. lots of colour (I do want to add colour to my life) Broccoli, peppers, carrots, etc.
  3. lots of berries (especially blueberries) and fruit.
  4. skim milk, low fat cheese and yoghurt
  5. low-fat protein like chicken and fish, eggs and nuts.

My diet will not include:

  1. White flour or refined grains
  2. pop (well, maybe diet gingerale)
  3. White potatoes or white rice
  4. bacon, hotdogs, or luncheon meat (the stuff that’s filled with things I cannot pronounce)
  5. Prepackaged or pre-made dinners  or snacks (also filled with strange unknown substances)

Monday is always a good day to start something. Wish me luck on step one of the “makeover” of MaggieLR.

Let me know if you have some suggestions, I need your help.

About Maggie L R

I want to add colour to my life, I want to take each day and make it my own. I love simple pleasures. A hot cup of coffee in the early morning on the deck watching the dog chase the ball. The expressions on the faces of my grandchildren. I love to explore, to take a road I have never been on and see what unfolds. I love to travel. I love a challenge. I have decided I want to live a long and healthy life so I have challenged myself to get into shape both physically and mentally.
This entry was posted in healthy eating, life is an adventure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Choosing a Diet.

  1. edebock says:

    In my mind chocolate is definitely a food group! Seriously though, your plan sounds like an excellent one. We’ve been trying to eat in a similar manner for quite awhile and have been very happy with the results. Shopping can be a challenge sometimes as it seems harder and harder to find the “real” food amongst all the convenience foods and other things that aren’t good for us. You might try googling “clean eating” for some good suggestions and recipes.

    • Maggie L R says:

      Thanks for the suggestion, I will google clean eating. We have been eating pretty well, but sure need to improve the reliance on “easy” premade meals. My health is my priority right now. I have no serious issues and want to keep it that way. Life is an adventure to be enjoyed.

Leave a comment